Sri Lanka opt to bat as India bring in Kuldeep instead of Chahal

Sri Lanka chose to bat in the second ODI, at Eden Gardens. Captain Dasun Shanaka said he expected the pitch to be good for batting, on top of which the ground favours teams setting scores. Sri Lanka must win this match to stay in the series.
Rohit Sharma, however, said he “was in two minds” because although India won batting first in the last match, he felt this surface could favour the bowlers.
Both teams made injury-related changes. Yuzvendra Chahal has not recovered sufficiently from a sore right shoulder he picked up while fielding in the first ODI, and is replaced by left-arm wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav.
Sri Lanka replaced Nissanka with Nuwanidu Fernando, a middle-order batter who has been on the fringes of the side for some time, but will today make his international debut. Madushanka, meanwhile, has been replaced by Lahiru Kumara.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 KL Rahul (wk), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Kuldeep Yadav, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Umran Malik

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Mendis (wk), 2 Avishka Fernando, 3 Dhananjaya de Silva, 4 Nuwanidu Fernando, 5 Charith Asalanka, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Dunith Wellalage, 9 Chamika Karunaratne, 10 Kasun Rajitha, 11 Lahiru Kumara

Source link

About admin

Check Also

Jadeja’s last-ball four seals fifth title for CSK in rollercoaster final

Chennai Super Kings 171 for 5 in 15 overs (Conway 47, Dube 32*, Mohit 3-36) …

Leave a Reply